SPRINGDALE, Ark. – Tyson Foods Inc. announced the election of nine people to the company's board of directors during Tyson's annual shareholders meeting. The election includes seven independent directors.

Those elected were Chairman John Tyson, Kathleen M. Bader, Gaurdie E. Banister Jr., Jim Kever, Kevin M. McNamara, Brad T. Sauer, Robert Thurber, Barbara A. Tyson and Albert C. Zapanta.

In other business, shareholders re-approved the company's performance goals for its stock incentive plan and ratified the selection of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as Tyson's independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending Sept. 29, 2012.