SPRINGDALE, Ark – During its annual shareholders meeting in early February, Tyson Foods Inc. seven people were elected to the company’s board of directors, including five independent directors.

Elected were Chairman John Tyson, Jim Kever, Kevin McNamara, Robert Thurber, Brad Sauer, Barbara Tyson and Albert Zapanta. The board position held by Don Tyson, who passed away Jan. 6, has not been filled.

In other business, shareholders approved, on an advisory basis, the overall compensation of the company’s named executive officers and chose to hold an advisory vote every three years regarding executive compensation. Shareholders also voted to reject a shareholder proposal for to implement controlled atmosphere stunning.