2016-2017 AMSA Board Members
2016-2017 American Meat Science Association Board
CHAMPAIGN, Ill. – The American Meat Science Association (AMSA) selected new board members during its 69th Reciprocal Meat Conference (RMC) in San Angelo, Texas, June 18-22. The new board members began their terms at the conclusion of the conference.


“The new AMSA board is a group of hard working, energetic individuals that have a passion for the many activities that will help continue to shape the future of our association. These activities include a solid judging program that continues to expand, a Foundation that is growing and thinking very strategically, a strong and robust student association, our ever expanding educational activities, a new AMSA journal and the meat science lexicon project. All of this is possible due to the active participation of our members and their generosity of time, talents and financial support,” said Steve Goll, AMSA board president. “With the combined talent and collaboration on our board, I look forward to working with them to help drive hard for results and have fun along the way.”

Dr. Rhonda Miller, Texas A&M Univ., was named president elect. New directors include Dr. Dustin Boler, Univ. of Illinois; Amy Steward, Tyson Foods, Inc.; and Dr. Dale Woerner, Colorado State Univ.
Board members continuing their terms include: president, Dr. Steve Goll, Tyson Foods, Inc.; past president, Dr. Bucky Gwartney, USDA; treasurer, Steve Campano, Hawkins, Inc.; and directors Sharon Beals, US Foods (2017 RMC Chair); Dr. Gretchen Mafi, Oklahoma State Univ.; Dr. Robert Maddock, North Dakota State Univ.; Dr. Andrew Milkowski, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison; Dr. Lauren Sammel; Johnsonville Sausage Co.; and Dan Schaefer, Cargill Beef.