WASHINGTON — Thirty-six appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board were announced on March 11 by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. All appointees will serve three-year terms beginning immediately.

"These appointees represent a cross-section of the beef industry and I am confident that beef producers and importers of cattle, beef and beef products will be well served by them," Mr. Vilsack said.

According to U.S.D.A. statistics, in 2009 there were an estimated 950,000 farms with cattle representing approximately 93.7 million head of cattle at the beginning of 2010. Top producing states included Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, California and Oklahoma.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are Barbara S. Jackson, Ariz.; Willem Bylsma, Calif.; Darrel C. Sweet, Calif.; Robert W. Buck, Colo.; Jeffrey L. Clausen, Iowa; Dean A. Black, Iowa; Daniel P. Herrmann, Kan.; Larry M. Olten, Kan.; Genevieve D. Lyons, La.; Andrew B. Salinas, Mich.; John C. Schafer, Minn.; David M. McCormick, Miss.; Kevin H. Frankenbach, Mo.; Kristy L. Lage, Neb.; Judith A. Reece, Neb.; Annalyn Settelmeyer, Nev.; Tamara A. Ogilvie, N.M.; Ernest B. Harris, N.C; Thomas A. Woods, Okla.; James C. Kesler, S.C.; Danni K. Beer, S.D.; Linda J. Gilbert, S.D.; Robert J. Reviere, Jr., Tenn.; Larry B. Pratt, Texas; Andrea W. Reed, Texas; D. Rudolph Tate, Texas; Bruce D. Dopslauf, Texas; Laurie L. Munns, Utah; Jane E. Clifford, Vt.; Larry D. Echols, W.VA; Martin A. Andersen, Wis.; Randall A. Geiger, Wis.; and Spencer A. Ellis, Wyo.

Newly appointed members representing importers are Alberto J. Senosiain, Fla.; Andrew Banchi, Penn.; and Scott A. Hansen, Va.

The board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the U.S., and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organizations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organizations. U.S.D.A.'s Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the board.