WASHINGTON – The US Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Market Service announced five people were appointed to the 15-member National Pork Board. Each appointee will serve three-year terms that end in 2023.

The newly appointed members representing pork producers include the following people:

  • Scott Phillips, owner of Phillips Farms in Drexel, Mo. His operation produces 54,000 pigs annually.
  • Heather Hill, co-owner of Hill Farms in Greenfield, Ind. Her operations produces 32,000 pigs annually.
  • Deb Ballance, owner of Legacy Farms in Fremont, NC.
  • Al Wulfekuhle, owner of G&W Pork in Quasqueton, Iowa.
  • Todd Erickson, general manager of North Dakota Sow Cooperative LLC in Northwood, ND. His operation produces 300,000 pigs annually.

Members of the National Pork Board are nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body, which is made up of 143 producer and importer members.

The board was established under the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1985. It develops budgets and awards contracts to carry out a coordinated program designed to strengthen the position of pork in the marketplace. The mandatory program is funded by an assessment of 0.4% of the market value of all hogs sold in the US and an equivalent amount on imported hogs, pork and pork products.

More details about the National Pork Board can be found here.