OTTAWA, Ontario – Taiwan became the fifth country to ban beef produced in Canada following a confirmed case of bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) at a farm near Edmonton, Alberta.

Peru, Indonesia, South Korea and Belarus already have imposed temporary bans on Canadian beef and beef products.

Meanwhile, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is continuing its investigation. The agency recently confirmed that the case is feed-related. CFIA said its investigation will focus on a review of on-farm animal and feed records to verify other animals at risk of developing the fatal neurological disease.

Canada remains listed as a “controlled BSE risk” country with the World Organization for Animal Health.