WASHINGTON — The US Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) announced it is seeking nominees for the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board.

The current board contains 27 members who will finish their terms in March 2024. Regions needing nominees include Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin, Southwest Unit (California and Nevada) and Importer Unit.

In total, the Cattlemen’s Beef Board is comprised of 101 members, representing 34 states, four units of geographically grouped states and one importer state. A list of current members can be found here.

Beef producers and importers in the United States are eligible for nominations. They must be nominated by a certified producer organization and submit a completed application.

Nominations must be submitted by July 10, 2023. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack will appoint members to the board after reviewing the nominations.

The Cattlemen’s Beef Board provides a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources in developing new markets and strengthening existing markets.

The board and its promotions are funded by a mandatory assessment of $1 per head collected each time cattle are sold. Of the approximately $75 million in assets collected, the board receives slightly over half, and the remainder goes to the Qualified State Beef Councils.