WASHINGTON – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced new members of the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF) for the 2015-2015 term.

The committee is tasked with advising the US Department of Agriculture on public health issues related to the safety and wholesomeness of the food supply. The committee also assists in the development of microbiological criteria; reviews and evaluates epidemiological and risk assessment data and methodologies for assessing microbiological hazards.

Newly appointed NACMCF members include: Dr. Gary Acuff, Texas A&M Univ.; Vanessa Coffman, Consumer Representative; Dr. Peter Feng, US Dept. of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration; Dr. Scott Hanna, US Dept. of Defense; Dr. Carolyn Hovde, Univ. of Idaho; Dr. Bala Kottapalli, ConAgra Foods Inc.; Dr. Margie Lee, Univ. of Georgia; Dr. Tiffiani Onifade, Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Dr. Laurie Post, Mars Global Chocolate; and Dr. John Ruby, JBS USA, LLC.

“NACMCF members offer invaluable insights on food safety issues,” Vilsack said. “These individuals will be instrumental in protecting our nation’s food supply.”