BRASILIA, Brazil – A ban on Brazilian beef has grown to include five countries after a case of atypical bovine spongiform encephalopathy was confirmed in December, according to Reuters.

China, Japan, South Africa, Saudi Arabia and Jordan have announced bans on Brazilian beef imports. Brazil’s foreign trade secretary, Tatiana Prazeres, said the country is considering retaliation through the World Trade Organization if the bans aren’t lifted.

The World Animal Health Organization (OIE) discovered a protein believed to cause bovine spongiform encephalopathy in a cow. The OIE report stated that the animal was a beef breeding cow almost 13 years old when it died. The cow also was tested for rabies before being buried.

Officials from Brazil’s farm ministry are giving the countries that imposed bans until March before pursuing action through the WTO, according to Reuters.