AUSTIN, Minn. – Hormel Foods’ No. 1 Award recipients have been announced for the time period 2006 to 2010. Every five years, the company presents this honor to its top supplier partners.

This marks the fourth time the award has been given. “This award recognizes suppliers that demonstrate a culture of continuous improvement, innovation, growth, partnership and customer service,” said Melanie Faust, Hormel director of purchasing. “Long-term successful partnerships with our suppliers allow Hormel Foods to achieve our goal of elevating the everyday with our customers.”

Recipients of the Hormel No. 1 Award are: AJ Lysne Contracting Corporation, Bunzl Processors Division, Commercial Services, Decker Truck Line Inc., Dickey Transport Inc., Dickson Industries Inc.. Environmental Land Management LLC, Fieldale Farms Corporation, Fox Electric, Gleeson Constructors Inc., Holiday Express Corporation, Kofab, Lou Rich Inc., McFarland Truck Lines Inc., Midwest Coast Transport, Newly Weds Foods, Paris Foods, Red Arrow Products Co. LLC, Silgan, Containers Corporation, Smyth Companies Inc.,The Meyers Printing Companies Inc., Werner Electric Supply & Van Meter Industrial Inc. and xpedx.

To qualify, supplier partners must: Have a supplier rating index of 96 percent or better in the fourth calendar quarter of the reporting year; the average of the five-year supplier rating index must be equal to or greater than 96 percent; be a recipient of the Spirit of Excellence Award (an annual award given by Hormel Foods) for a minimum of four times throughout the last five consecutive years; and meet other requirements in the areas of number of products sold by the supplier to Hormel Foods, dollars of exposure and deliveries to Hormel Foods, number of Hormel Foods locations serviced and participation in continuous improvement processes.