WASHINGTON – The National Turkey Federation (NTF) named its 2022 officer team and executive committee members during the NTF Annual Convention.

The board of directors for the group elected Ronnie Parker of Circle S Ranch was elected 2022 NTF chairman. Steve Lykken of Jennie-O Turkey Store will serve as vice chairman and John Zimmerman of P&J Products Co. as secretary-treasurer. Phil Seger, representing Farbest Farms Inc., will move into the role of immediate past chairman.

“I am humbled to serve as National Turkey Federation chairman and lead this organization as we respond to the current threats of avian influenza and look to position the turkey industry for the future,” Parker said. 

Parker then laid out the turkey industry’s goals and issues to watch in the year ahead. 

“While avian influenza will no doubt be a major area of work for NTF, we will also continue our focus on identifying solutions to enhance turkey health, advancing the turkey industry’s efforts on food safety, addressing supply chain challenges, including labor availability, and engaging consumers with turkey products,” he said. “We have a lengthy agenda before us in 2022. My goal is to build on NTF’s strong foundation of leadership and see all members get involved to help move the industry forward.”

Parker has worked in the turkey industry for 44 years and for Circle S Ranch since 1997. Previously, he served as a president of the South Carolina Turkey Federation, South Carolina Poultry Federation and the North Carolina Poultry Federation. 

NTF also named the following people to the NTF Executive Committee: Leon Fletcher of Cargill Inc.; Jay Jandrain of Butterball LLC; Doug Johnson of Perdue Farms Inc.; Ron Kardel of West Liberty Foods LLC; John King of Virginia Poultry Growers Cooperative; Thierry Murad of AJC International Inc.; Christy Puffenbarger of Aviagen Turkeys; Bob Reinhard of Tyson Foods; Alan Rickard of Hybrid Turkeys; Jeff Segars of Foster Farms; and Rick VanderSpek of AgForte Farms.