WASHINGTON – The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of 10 new members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI) and an additional new member to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF).

NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) as an advisory committee to advise on food safety concerns and inspection program activities. NACMCF was established in 1988 by FSIS, the Food and Drug Administration, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Department of Commerce, and the US Department of Defense as an advisory committee to provide impartial scientific advice and peer reviews to food safety agencies on public health issues related to the safety and wholesomeness of domestic, imported and exported foods.

“USDA is excited to announce the new committee members to NACMPI and NACMCF,” said Dr. Mindy Brashears, undersecretary for Food Safety. “These committee members represent a diverse group distinguished by their knowledge and interest in meat and poultry safety. Their expertise and advice play a key role in informing USDA’s food safety decisions to ensure the US continues to have one of the safest food systems in the world.”

The new NACMPI members appointed to serve two-year terms are:

  • Dr. Jimmy L. Avery, Mississippi State University
  • William H. Battle, Pride of the Pond and Battle Fish North
  • Tina Conklin, Michigan State University
  • Dr. Patricia Ann Curtis, North Carolina State University
  • Dr. Jennifer A. Eberly, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
  • Casey Lynn Gallimore, North American Meat Institute
  • Dr. Joseph Jay Harris, Southwest Meat Association
  • Dr. Curtis Lynn Knipe, Ohio State University
  • Dr. Byron Williams, Mississippi State University
  • Sherri L. Williams, JBS USA LLC

Shannara Lynn, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, was appointed to NACMCF to serve a two-year term.