MCLEAN, Va. – The Meat Industry Suppliers Alliance Foundation announced it has awarded seven $10,000 scholarships to students pursuing meat science degrees.

“The MISA Foundation is proud to announce the list of outstanding scholarships winners for the 2019-2020 school year” said Bob Grote, chairman of the MISA Foundation and CEO of Grote Company. “The success of the FPSA Auction this year, due in large part to the contributions of MISA members, has allowed us to continue in the spirit of giving, enabling us to award these extraordinary students and their accomplishments.”

The scholarship winners are:

  • Taylor Price, Oklahoma State Univ.
  • Jennifer Vuia-Riser, Univ. of Tennessee
  • Cole Perkins, Texas Tech Univ.
  • Hannah Williams, Kansas State Univ.
  • Thomas Fletcher, Texas Tech Univ.
  • Luke Fuerniss, Colorado State Univ.
  • Brianna Britton, Purdue Univ.

David Seckman, president and CEO of the Food Processing Suppliers Association said, “These MISA Scholarships are an integral part of our Association’s ‘Giving Back’ program. These scholarships highlight MISA’s commitment to creating future leaders in the meat industry. Working with these students and universities is important to us because we know that the industry will benefit from these amazing graduates when they enter the work force.”

Grote added, “The Foundation Board congratulates all the winners and wishes them the best in the upcoming school year and all future endeavors. Finally, I would like to thank our members and participants of the FPSA Auction for their overwhelming support with their donations and purchase of auction items where we raised over $155,000.”