WASHINGTON- The US Dept. of Agriculture named five members to the National Pork Board (NPB) on May 28. Each member will serve their appointment for a three-year term.

NPB is made up of 15 pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body, which come from 132 producer and importer members.

The appointed members include:

  • Russell A. Nugent III (Lowell, Arkansas) is the Director of Technical Services for The Pork Group Inc where he works on swine veterinary health, nutrition, genetics, welfare, and research.
  • Gene Noem (Ames, Iowa) is the owner of KD Feeder in Iowa. Noem also serves on the Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) board of directors and on the IPPA swine health and welfare committee.
  • Bill Luckey (Columbus, Nebraska) owns a wean-to-finish operation. According to the Pork Industry Forum, he is responsible for the daily care of 740 nursery pigs and 1,400 finisher pigs. In addition, his family operates a 2,000 head custom contract finisher. 
  • Alicia Pedemonti (Hopkinton, New Hampshire) is a veterinary technician for the New Hampshire Dept. of Agriculture. She also owns a finishing operation with her husband where they market pigs directly to consumers.
  • Michael P. Skahill (Williamsburg, Virginia) works as a Vice President of Global Affair for Smithfield Foods. Skahill is also a member of the National Pork Board’s International Marketing Committee and Chair of the Trade Committee for the North American Meat Institute. 

The National Pork Board was established under the authority of the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985.