WASHINGTON – Twelve existing members will be returning to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI) as five new members join the committee, according to an announcement by US Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue May 15.

“It is our goal to protect public health, prevent foodborne illness, and promote confidence in the US food safety inspection system, which is the most reliable and well-documented in the world,” Perdue said. “These committee members, with their breadth of experience and expertise, will help inform USDA on best practices as we continue to protect public health with the latest advances in science and technology.”

The new NACMPI members appointed to serve two-year terms are:

  • Thomas Gremillion, Consumer Federation of America
  • James Jenkins, Louisiana Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry
  • Dr. Amilton De Mello, Univ. of Nevada
  • Tina Rendon, Pilgrim’s Pride Corp
  • Kimberly Rice, US Foods

Reappointed NACMPI members are:

  • Dr. Manpreet Singh, Univ. of Georgia
  • Dr. Randall K. Phebus, Kansas State Univ.
  • Dr. Patricia Curtis, Auburn Univ.
  • Brian Sapp, White Oak Pastures
  • Sherri Jenkins, JBS, USA
  • Dr. Betsy Booren, Olsson Frank Weeda Terman Matz, PC
  • Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball
  • Dr. Michael Crupain, Dr. Oz Show
  • Dr. Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention
  • Kurt Brandt, United Food and Commercial Workers Union
  • Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, South Dakota State
  • Dr. Kryzsztof Mazurczak, State of Illinois

NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) as a discretionary advisory committee that advises on food safety concerns and other matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. It also contributes to USDA’s regulatory policy development.