WASHINGTON – The North American Meat Institute (NAMI) Scholarship Foundation distributed $27,000 in scholarships to the recipients of its 2016-2017 undergraduate scholarship awards Aug. 16. The scholarships went to nine undergraduate students to pursue degrees in animal, meat and food science or culinary arts programs. 

“The North American Meat Institute Scholarship Foundation congratulates these exemplary students on their impressive record of academic achievement, leadership and service,” said NAMI Scholarship President Ron Gustafson of Vernon, California-based Coast Packing Co. “These high-performing students represent the bright future of our industry and we hope the scholarships will help them achieve their academic and extracurricular goals.”    

Scholarships included:

• Frank DeBenedetti Memorial Scholarship – Brian Klopf, food science, Iowa State Univ.

• John Duyn award – Brogan Horton, animal science, Texas A&M Univ.

• Florence Smith Powers scholarship – Kiersten Scott, animal and meat science, Texas Tech Univ.

• Al Piccetti scholarship – Austin Hunt, animal science and agricultural business, Colorado State Univ. 

• Robert Hatoff  “Center of the Plate” Memorial Scholarship – Monique A. Allen, culinary sustainability, Kennesaw State Univ.

The NAMI Undergraduate Scholarships were awarded to:

• Jeananne Mosher, animal science, Colorado State Univ.

• Cole Perkins, animal and meat science, Texas Tech Univ.

• Morgan Weinrich, animal science, Colorado State Univ.

• Luke Fuerniss, animal science, Colorado State Univ.

The award recipients will also attend the Meat Institute Annual Meeting and Outlook Conference, Sept.27-29, in Washington, DC, where they will be recognized with a plaque and given an opportunity to network with industry professionals.

Each year, the NAMI Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships to sophomores, juniors and seniors enrolled in an approved animal, meat or food science degree or culinary arts program at accredited four-year colleges or universities. The eligible recipients must remain in good academic standing and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.    

In addition to President Ron Gustafson, the Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors includes Mike Gangel, vice president of Birko-Chad Co.; Mike Satzow, North Country Smokehouse; Michael Strauss, industry consultant; and Jimmy Maxey, Certified Meat Products.