MINNEAPOLIS – Cargill will operate under a leaner executive leadership structure beginning Dec. 1. 

David MacLennan, president and CEO of Cargill
David MacLennan, chairman and CEO of Cargill

Dave MacLennan, chairman and CEO, has formed a single executive team comprising of leaders of the company’s five major business groups and finance, human resources, business services, business operations and supply chain functions. The new structure replaces Cargill’s previous two-tiered structure.

“Like any dynamic organization, we are continually reviewing all aspects of our business, including our leadership structure, to ensure that we are well positioned to effectively lead the company’s growth and performance,” MacLennan said in a statement. “There have been a lot of changes in the 150 years since Cargill was founded, and we have always evolved to anticipate market conditions and the needs of the customers we serve. This change is aimed at simplifying our leadership structure and increasing the speed of decision making — agility being critical in today’s fast moving world.”

Cargill’s five business groups are ag supply chain, animal nutrition, animal protein, food ingredients, and energy, transportation and metals.

MacLennan also announced that Paul Conway and Emery Koenig, both vice chairmen, will retire from Cargill. Conway will retire effective Dec. 31, after 36 years with company; and Koenig will leave on Feb. 1, 2016, after 38 years.