COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Seven Texas A&M Univ. faculty members, including Dr. Jeffrey Savell, regents professor of animal science, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, have been appointed university distinguished professors. The title, which is bestowed in perpetuity, is among the highest honors awarded to Texas A&M faculty members, according to the university.
Dr. Jeff Savell, Distinguished Professor at Texas A&M Univ.

Savell joined the faculty of the Texas A&M Univ. Department of Animal Science in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences in 1979. He earned his Ph.D. from Texas A&M. A regents professor and the EM “Manny” Rosenthal Chairholder in the Department of Animal Science, he is recognized nationally and internationally for seminal contributions to the field of meat science.

His meat tenderness research has provided a practical method for improving beef tenderness, but it has also led to greater insight into the mechanisms regulating beef tenderness. Savell’s research led to the production and marketing of leaner beef, meeting consumer demand for beef with less fat that is now marketed as Select beef. His work also demonstrates the role of beef in a healthy diet and provided an economic incentive for the beef industry to produce leaner beef.

Savell is also considered to be a food-safety thought leader as well as a leader in implementing programs to ensure meat-product safety. He has published more than 300 articles in peer-refereed journals, as well as hundreds of extension publications and presentations, plus 19 book chapters. His work has been cited more than 5,725 times, which is outstanding for the more narrowly focused field of meat science. He has been recognized as a Highly Cited Researcher by He received the Distinguished Research Award, Distinguished Teaching Award and the Signal Service/American Meat Science Association Fellow Award from the American Meat Science Association, and he was inducted into the Meat Industry Hall of Fame. He has also received numerous awards for outstanding teaching and mentoring.

The 2014 university distinguished professor honorees join a select group of more than 70 current faculty members that hold the prestigious title. This designation denotes a faculty member who is pre-eminent in his or her field, has made at least one seminal contribution to the discipline, and whose work is central in any narrative of the field and is widely recognized to have changed the direction of scholarship in the field.
“University Distinguished Professors represent the highest level of achievement for our faculty,” said Dr. Karan Watson, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs. “They are recognized as pre-eminent authorities in their fields and their accomplishments are exemplified by outstanding teaching, mentoring, discovery and service. They demonstrate to the world the high quality of scholarship underway at Texas A&M Univ.”

Texas A&M Interim President Mark Hussey and the Texas A&M Foundation will host a reception on April 30 recognizing the new university distinguished professors and honoring all of the University Distinguished Professors. More information, including a complete list of University Distinguished Professors, is available online at