WASHINGTON — The Republicans retained control of the House of Representatives as a result of the mid-term elections. Most members of the House Committee on Agriculture, Democrats as well as Republicans, won their bids for re-election, so changes to the committee in the next Congress may be minor.

Rep. Frank Lucas of Oklahoma, chairman of agriculture was re-elected.

Also winning their bids for re-election were Republican committee members Bob Goodlatte of Virginia, vice chairman of the committee and a former committee chairman, Steve King of Iowa, Randy Neugebauer of Texas, Mike Rogers of Alabama, K. Michael Conaway of Texas, Glenn Thompson of Pennsylvania, Bob Gibbs of Ohio, Austin Scott of Georgia, Scott Tipton of Colorado, Eric “Rick” Crawford of Arkansas, Scott Des-Jarlais of Tennessee, Christopher Gibson of New York, Vicky Hartzler of Missouri, Reid Ribble of Wisconsin, Kristi Noem of South Dakota, Dan Benishek of Michigan, Jeff Denham of California, Stephen Lee Fincher of Tennessee, Doug LaMalfa of California, Richard Hudson of North Carolina, Rodney Davis of Illinois, Chris Collins of New York and Ted Yoho of Florida.

Vance McAllister of Louisiana failed to qualify for a run-off for his seat, which will be held later this year.
Rep. Collin Peterson of Minnesota, ranking member on the agriculture committee, won his bid for re-election.

Democratic committee members also re-elected to the House included David Scott of Georgia, Timothy Walz of Minnesota, Kurt Schrader of Oregon, Marcia Fudge of Ohio, James McGovern of Massachusetts, Suzan DelBene of Washington, Filemon Vela of Texas, Michelle Lujan Grisham of New Mexico, Ann Kuster of New Hampshire, Richard Nolan of Minnesota, Pete Gallego of Texas, Juan Vargas of California, Cheryl Bustos of Illinois, John Garamendi of California, and Joe Courtney of Connecticut. It appeared Sean Patrick Maloney of New York also won re-election.

Mike McIntyre of North Carolina retired, and his seat was taken by Republican Dave Rouzer. The race between Rep. Jim Costa of California and his Republican opponent Johnny Tacherra was not yet decided at press time. Gloria Negrete McLeod retired from the House, and her seat was won by Norma Torres, a Democrat.

William Enyart of Illinois was defeated by Republican Mike Bost.