USDA announces beef board appointments

by Erica Shaffer
Share This:
Search for similar articles by keyword: [Beef]
WASHINGTON – The Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board gained 25 new members. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the appointments; members will serve three-year terms.

The 100-member board oversees collection of funds for the Beef Checkoff. The board also contracts with industry-governed organizations to implement promotion initiatives, research, consumer information programs, industry information, producer communications and marketing programs for foreign markets. The Secretary of Agriculture selects the appointees who are nominated by certified organizations representing producers of beef, veal and dairy in addition to importers.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are:

• Leo Sutterfield, Mountain View, Ark.;
• Kent Bamford, Haxtun, Colo.;
• Sarah Childs, Lake Placid, Fla.;
• Jared Brackett, Rogerson, Idaho;
• Perry Owens, Minneapolis, Kan.;
• Stacy McClintock, Soldier, Kan.;
• Jonathan Miller, Bloomfield, Ky.;
• Leon Kreisler, Salem, Mo.;
• Lyle Peterson, Custer, Mont.;
• Ross Racine, Billings, Mont.;
• Sherry Vinton, Whitman, Neb.;
• James Eschliman, Ericson, Neb.;
• Patrick Becker, Selfridge, ND;
• Barbara A. Jacques, Shidler, Okla.;
• Terry Wyatt, Hollister, Okla.;
• Richard McElhaney, Hookstown, Pa.;
• Gerald Sharp, Bath, SD;
• Robert Von Der Lieth, Jr., Copperopolis, Calif.

Members representing the Southwest Unit include:

• Paul Looney, Fredericksburg, Texas;
• Jackie Means, Van Horn, Texas;
• Lavinia Sartwelle, Sealy, Texas;
• Richard Winter, Canyon, Texas; and
• William McDonald, Blacksburg, Va.

Newly appointed members representing importers are Joakim Holzner, Windsor, Colo.; and David Pietsch, McLean, Va.
Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Meat and Poultry News do not reflect those of Meat and Poultry News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.