AAMP REPORT: Annual awards announced

by Joel Crews
Share This:

 AAMP new logo

OMAHA – During the opening session of the 2016 American Association of Meat Processors’ (AAMP) American Convention of Meat Processors and Suppliers’ Exhibition, two recipients of this year’s Stephen F. Krut Scholarship were awarded. Krut, a longtime MEAT+POULTRY contributing editor and former AAMP executive director, announced David Weaver and Taylor Edmond as the recipients of two, $2,000 scholarships. Weaver resides in Allenwood, Pennsylvania, and is pursuing a degree in agriculture science at Penn State Univ. Edmond is from Bowling Green, Missouri, and is attending the Univ. of Central Missouri where she is seeking a degree in speech and language pathology.

According to AAMP, the scholarships are granted each year to university or technical school students who are pursuing a career in animal, meat or food science, agricultural engineering or a related field. To be eligible, applicants must be from the family of an AAMP member or an employee of a member.

This year’s F.W. Witt Supplier of the Year was also announced. Wichita, Kansas-based Walton’s Inc. was granted the 2016 award. Walton’s (www.waltonsinc.com) is a supplier of seasonings, packaging supplies, sausage casings and equipment to the meat and poultry processing industry.

AAMP’s annual F.W. Witt Supplier of the Year Award honors a person or supplier member who has devoted much of his or her career to the meat and poultry industry, specifically focusing on small and medium-size plant operators.

Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Meat and Poultry News do not reflect those of Meat and Poultry News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.