Pork Board elects new officers

by Meat&Poultry Staff
Share This:
Search for similar articles by keyword: [National Pork Board]
DES MOINES, Iowa – Karen Richter was elected president of the National Pork Board during the recent World Pork Expo held in Des Moines, Iowa. Richter, a Minnesota pork producer, succeeds Conley Nelson, a farmer and pork producer from Algona, Iowa, who will remain on the board's executive committee as immediate past president.

Richter is serving a second three-year term on the National Pork Board. She serves on the Checkoff's Domestic Marketing Committee and Pork Safety Quality and Human Nutrition Committee. She also is a member of the Minnesota Pork Board and the Le Sueur County Pork Producers.

"As a producer and board member, I am constantly working to make this industry better for future generations," Richter said. "There's never a short list of challenges in the livestock industry, but we continue to evolve our programs so that the pork products we provide and the way that we operate our farms improve to meet the needs of our customers, consumers and producers."

Other officers elected include Dale Norton, a pork producer from Bronson, Mich., vice president; and Derrick Sleezer, a pork producer from Cherokee, Iowa, treasurer. The three executive officers will serve one-year terms effective immediately.
Comment on this Article
We welcome your thoughtful comments. Please comply with our Community rules.



The views expressed in the comments section of Meat and Poultry News do not reflect those of Meat and Poultry News or its parent company, Sosland Publishing Co., Kansas City, Mo. Concern regarding a specific comment may be registered with the Editor by clicking the Report Abuse link.